Raleigh DUI Driver’s License-Suspension Lawyer
People drive to school, work, the gym, and other places. Losing your privilege to drive can seriously impact your ability to carry on your daily routine. If you face the possibility of losing your license, contact a Raleigh license-suspension hearings attorney at Coolidge Law Firm. The attorneys at Coolidge Law Firm have experience fighting for and restoring the driving privilege of residents in Raleigh. They know how to handle the complex process and will do everything they can to get you back on the road.
Coolidge Law Firm represents clients throughout the Raleigh area, including Raleigh, Apex, Cary, Morrisville, Rolesville, Garner, Wake Forest, Fuquay-Varina, and Knightdale. Call to schedule a free case evaluation.
License-Suspension Hearing Lawyer in Raleigh
Losing your ability to drive can have a serious impact on your life. It can affect your ability to keep a job, attend classes, and get to places at which you need to be. It can have long-term effects on your personal and professional life. Sometimes, drivers do not even know that their licenses have been suspended.
Drivers can have their licenses suspended because of certain traffic offenses. Depending on the severity of the offense, drivers could lose their privilege for years. However, they do have the chance to plead their case at a license suspension hearing. A criminal defense attorney can help drivers retain or regain the right to get behind the wheel.
Information on License-Suspension Hearings
- Losing Driving Privileges in North Carolina
- Suspension After DWI Conviction
- North Carolina Implied Consent Law
Losing Driving Privileges in North Carolina
North Carolina has some of the strictest driving laws. North Carolina’s Department of Motor Vehicles can suspend or revoke a driver’s license for several reasons, including:
- Reckless driving
- Driving while impaired (DWI)
- Refusing to take a chemical test
- Accumulating driver’s license points
A revoked license is a little different from a suspension in that the privileges are lost for a longer period of time. However, in both instances, a person cannot legally drive on the roads of North Carolina.
When your license is taken away in North Carolina, you will be immediately notified in writing. The suspension period varies based on the reason for the suspension. Certain speeding and reckless driving convictions can result in an automatic suspension of your license, including speeding over 75 mph.
One of the most common causes for a suspended North Carolina driver’s license is the accumulation of driver’s license points. Drivers accumulate points after being convicted for committing moving violations and other traffic infractions.
The number of points you earn will depend on the violation. Your driver’s license could be suspended if you accumulate 12 points or more in three years. It also could be suspended if you accumulate eight points or more within three years following a license suspension.
Suspension length depends upon the number of suspensions on your driving record:
- First suspension: 60 days maximum
- Second suspension: 6 months maximum
- Any subsequent suspensions: 1 year
Suspension After DWI Conviction
DWI convictions result in an automatic loss of driving privileges in North Carolina. If you are arrested for driving while impaired or a zero-tolerance offense, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended for 30 days—regardless of whether you are ultimately convicted of DWI or the zero tolerance offense.
Upon conviction of a DWI, you could lose your driver’s license privileges as follows:
• First offense: one year
• Second offense: four years
• Third offense: permanently
• Habitual impaired driving: permanently
If your license is suspended because of a DWI offense, you may be able to seek limited driving privileges with the help of an attorney.
North Carolina Implied Consent Law
Refusing to submit to a chemical test after arrest for an implied consent offense will result in a one year suspension of your driving privilege. These types of offenses are known as implied consent offenses, meaning when you get behind the wheel of a car in North Carolina, you consent to a chemical test, whether it is through blood, alcohol, or urine.
If your license has been suspended due to a refusal, you may request a hearing before a DMV hearing officer. The refusal hearing must be scheduled within 10 days of the date that the DMV sent you notice of the suspension of your driver’s license.
Facing a DWI License Suspension Hearing? Call Now!
If you face losing your driving privilege in North Carolina, contact a skilled license-suspension hearing attorney at Coolidge Law Firm. The attorneys at Coolidge Law Firm can help you navigate through the complex process with the DMV and fight to keep you on the roadways. Call (919) 239-8448 or fill out the contact form below for a free consultation.